Novak Djokovic eyes second season grand slam as he aims for calendar slam

Novak Djokovic has made the Australian Open final for the sixth year in a row but this time the Serb will be looking to complete a calendar grand slam when he meets Stan Wawrinka in the season’s final major at Melbourne Park on Sunday.

For the first time in 12 years, three different players have held all four majors in the same year – Djokovic, Andy Murray and Wawrinka in 2015.

Five-time grand slam champion Roger Federer has also had a good year, winning his 20th major title at the Australian Open in January, and will be in the wings if the three-times Australian Open winner Wawrinka falters on Sunday.

Djokovic and Murray are the only men yet to win a grand slam title this year. While they have both had three exits in the semi-finals or lower, with Federer winning the Indian Wells and Miami titles, Djokovic’s last-four defeat to Andy Murray at Roland Garros marked his first loss to the Scot in a major final.

Murray went on to win the tournament for the second time and a third-placed finish sees Djokovic become only the second man after Don Budge in 1938 to hold all four major titles at the same time.

Leave a Comment